PDA

View Full Version : Gumleaf

Colin Driscoll
12-21-2009, 05:12 AM
This is what we Aussies call a Gumleaf, being a leaf from a Gumtree (Eucalyptus). The leaves turn from green to these reds/oranges when they age and subsequently fall from the tree. Can happen any time of the year but more frequently during dry times as we are having now.

http://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh296/MyPikkies/Assorted/GumleafInWeb211209.jpg

Another shot from my Panasonic FZ28 1/160 f8 -.33ev iso100 macro setting. HH and tricky with the web blowing in the breeze! Darkened a few bg highlights and cropped to suit the leaf shape.

I work as a field botanist/ecologist and am often in thick scrub so just can't carry my Canon gear and have to make the best out of the Panasonic.

Ed Vatza
12-21-2009, 06:57 PM
Hi Colin,

I like the composition and the execution. The leaf looks good, the back ground is fine and I like the web. Just enough to show it is supporting the leaf with it being overbearing. Often the webs get to looking very messy. The only suggestion I would make is that I think the comp would be a bit more powerful if it the leaf came in more from the UL corner and swung downward toward the LR. Right now it seems a tad flat in the frame. Just a suggestion.

Julie Kenward
12-21-2009, 08:03 PM
I agree with Ed about the turn of the leaf in the frame. I also wondered about the black hole in the middle of the background - it really pulls my eye away from the leaf. With the web in the way it would be a pain to try to clone over it.

I probably would have tried a different angle in the field to get the BG a little cleaner and to get the leaf angled in the frame a bit more.

Colin Driscoll
12-22-2009, 01:04 AM