PDA

View Full Version : Great Horned Owl in flight, (it ain't no Jim Nieger!)

Dan Brown
12-17-2009, 10:46 PM
Well, I finally got a few chances at a GHO in flight this past weekend! I really pushed the noise envelope of my D300 at ISO 800! And, my 80-400vr's AF really had a hard time keeping up with this guy, but I like this one:o. Cropped a bit and PP'ed in ACR and CS3. C&C welcome.

Camera Model: NIKON D300, handheld with shoulder stock
Camera serial number: 3125128
Firmware: Version 2.10
Date/Time: 2009:12:14 12:49:39
Shutter speed: 1/1000 sec
Aperture: 8
Exposure mode: Manual
Flash: Off
Metering mode: Multi-segment
ISO: 800
Lens: VR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D
Focal length: 400mm
Focal length: 600mm (in 35mm film)
VR Image Stabilization: On
AF mode: AF-C

David Stephens
12-18-2009, 12:05 AM
Beautiful bird and pose. I'm a noob also, so take my suggestions with a grain of salt.

I'm wondering if you could bring the brightness up to show a little more under-wing detail. Also, I think it's a little stronger with a closer crop, getting rid of most of that tree.

Congrats on the capture. I'm still looking to photograph my first GHO.

Dave

Dan Brown
12-18-2009, 12:14 AM
Thanks David for the suggestions. I would like to do both crop and lighten but these things seemed to add to the noise issue. I think this image is pretty much maxed out as far as my PS abilities are concerned!

Lance Peters
12-18-2009, 12:50 AM
Hi Dan - looks a little dark to me - I set a white point and a black point in P.S. and adjusted the mid tones just a tad.
Selected the bird and ran a genuine fractals sharpening action (Noel Carboni's - Med Sharp - Max texture) applied to the bird only - might have introduced some halo's but with such a small file - to be expected, at least it gives you a idea of what is possible.

Like the clearly visible eye and the towars you flight line.
Good show :)

Gus Cobos
12-18-2009, 06:13 AM
Hi Dan,