PDA

View Full Version : Canon 1dMKIII Is it safe?

Steve Ashton
02-17-2008, 02:06 PM
Guys I am a full time pro photographer (not wildlife) I have both the 1dsMKII and the 1dMKIIn bodies both of which are in need of replacing They get some heavy use.

Question is which way do I go? The new 1DS seems way to slow and to high resolution for me. I had 2 MKIIIs taken back by Canon they said they could not fix the focus problem (all 3 went off focus in single shot) What is the status on the latest bodies?

At present I am making do with 5Ds a great camera but no were near strong enough and the viewfinder just fills up with dust and crap.

I am lost as to the best way ahead. I am very serious about looking at Nikon but I love the fast Canon primes. My only long lens is a 300 F2.8 which I can sell easily.

My work is wedding and press my hobby is birds and wildlife which way would you go? I really appreciate any advice.

Jim Neiger
02-17-2008, 02:34 PM
I think it's still a bit of a risk, but if you are a full time pro, it may be a justifiable risk. I've had a working 1D3 since July, but it died on me a couple of days ago and now needs to go in for service. It's still the best camera I've had by far and wouldn't hesitate to get one if I needed it.

Art Peslak
02-17-2008, 02:36 PM
I had 3 Mark III's. An original that had the submirror fix, a blue dot that would not focus on anything and went back to the dealer and another blue dot. The blue dot and the fixed original were better after the fix than before but still could not hold focus properly during a sequence of shots. If you are using a 5D and don't shoot action, the Mark III may serve you well. I chose to switch to Nikon because the first fix did not work for my photography and I have no confidence that Canon knows how to fix it even thought they now claim to have a new fix coming.

The Canon L-glass holds its value very well and I did well selling my lenses. I did lose some money on the mark iii bodies.