PDA

View Full Version : New Member first Post

VinceRossi
12-08-2009, 03:17 PM
Seem to have lost my original Post. This was shot on a grey dark day with a bad back ground.

Aperature Priority
ISO 500
300mm
1/500
f9
No tripod---pan and shoot method.

arash_hazeghi
12-08-2009, 04:23 PM
Warm welcome to BPN, this image is not very strong due to the following reason:
1) bird is flying away from the camera, wing position isn't great and the left wing is clipped
2) image is very soft and doesn't have any quality/detail.

In general 1/500sec is not fast enough for flight shots, open up the aperture or crank up the ISO for better results. Hope you can improve this work and looking forward to future posts.

VinceRossi
12-08-2009, 04:30 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome and your honesty. As I am new to photography I thought this pic was pretty good. But you have pointed out a few things to look for. Thanks.

Bill Dix
12-08-2009, 05:51 PM
Vince: Welcome to BPN from a fellow New Jerseyan. You've come to the right place. I can tell you that in the 7 months that I've been a member of BPN I have learned a phenomenal amount, improving my skills both at capturing the image in the camera and at post-processing. (And, of course, I've learned how very much more I still have to learn.) Stick with it, don't be afraid to post your images (either here in Avian or in the Eager to Learn forum) and don't hesitate to comment on others' work.

Phil Ertel
12-08-2009, 07:01 PM