PDA

View Full Version : Colorado Sunset

David Stephens
12-06-2009, 06:32 PM
I was out at Cherry Creek State Park, in a Southern suburb of Denver, chasing raptors, chickadees and deer when I thought I'd go down to the Western shore of the reservoire to see what birds and animals were there and saw this very interesting scenic opportunity, with water, geese, driftwood, the Rocky Mountains, sunset and a nice range of colors:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2563/4161068863_d9cec75f4c_b.jpg

Taken with my Canon 5D MkII with the EF 24-105mm f4L at 24mm and f4, ISO 800 and 1/5000-second hand held, -1/3EV, processed with DxO's Optics Pro 5.6, only perfecting the water horizon and a touch of lighting adjustment and light NR. After the fact I noticed that my ISO could be reduced and took other shots at lower ISOs, but this was the only one with the geese in perfect position. The differnce in noise was very minor anyway.

This is my first time in this section of the forum and I've only recently been thinking about getting equally serious about scenic photography, so I'm looking forward to suggestions and critique.

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Dave Mills
12-06-2009, 07:50 PM
Hi David,Welcome to landscapes and glad to know about your interest in scenic photography. First off you had a nice scene in front of you which you handled well technically and the capture of the flock added interest. I'm also glad you left the log reflection in tact and didn't cut it . If this were mine I would of taken the log off center and moved it to the left. Secondly, I would have eliminated the partial tree and rocks on the right. Finally, since the upper sky doesn't have much interest I would crop it down just below the wispy cloud above the flock. Good effort!!

Robert Amoruso
12-07-2009, 06:37 AM