PDA

View Full Version : Honeymoon HDR

Robert La Follette
01-02-2008, 03:18 PM
Hello All!

First, I am glad to have found this site, and congrats to all who is putting in the hard work to put this together. I am really looking forward to seeing everyones work, for already, there is some amazing shots here to view!

I wanted to contribute one of my favorites I took in 2007. I shot a HDR of my most favorite place to visit, Honeymoon Island, Florida. I have been to this little slice of paradise hundreds of times, and each time, I find something I have never seen before, and is one of the most peaceful and relaxing place I think I have ever visited.

On Christmas Eve 2007, my wife and I went to Honeymoon to check on the resident Great Horned Owls, but I took a break and decided to try something new (for me at least). I found a location that was perfect for a landscape candidate, so the below was the results of the effort. I have never tried HDR before, and the results came out better then I expected. This was one of those once-in-a-blue-moon type of days, where there was literally no wind at all. I can't remember when there wasn't at least a little breeze since the island in out in the middle of the water. There was even quite a bit of fog over the gulf that day, since there was no breeze to move it off. What was equally as strange is that there was however a thin layer of clouds, but they were moving quite fast across the skies, which resulted in the motion blur in the clouds.

Here is the result:

http://blog.robertlafollette.com/images/honeymoonhdr.jpg

Canon 40D
Canon 24-105mm@24mm
-2 -1 0 +1 +2 HDR
Processed with Photomatix and Photoshop CS3

-robert.

Robert Amoruso
01-02-2008, 03:39 PM
This is very cool looking. Looks like you have a good grasp on the HDR technique. Compositionally it works well too. I like the feeling of depth with the small palmettos in the FG, medium tall palms in the middle ground and the tall pines in the BG.