PDA

View Full Version : Little Bee-eater

Robert Winslow
12-03-2009, 03:09 PM
Hi Folks,
I'm brand new to BPN. There are some really fantastic images on this website.
I enjoy photographing birds in many areas including East Africa and hope to post a few in the next several days.
This Little Bee-eater was photographed in the Masai Mara
f5.0
1/1000
ISO 400
Canon 500/4.5
Canon 40D

Axel Hildebrandt
12-03-2009, 03:13 PM
Welcome to BPN, Robert! Very nice first post. I like the angle, eye contact, sharpness and BG, the bee adds to it. I might crop a tad off the left and add a bit canvas top and right to get the bird out of the center. I would also run noise reduction on the background and desaturate the image a few points. Keep them coming!

Doug Brown
12-03-2009, 03:39 PM
Hi Robert and welcome to BPN! Terrific detail in your first post, and the eye contact is excellent. Agree with Axel about trimming a bit off the left; I would take it to the shadow line on the perch. If you don't have a problem with cloning, I would remove the darkened branch behind the perch on the left. Look forward to more of your images!

Jim Crosswell
12-03-2009, 03:40 PM
Great first post Robert! I would love too see one of these birds someday. I agree with the crop and NR comments.

Manos Papadomanolakis
12-03-2009, 03:44 PM
welcome to BPN!
beautiful details,colors,timing,bg...I might crop a tad off the left and add a bit canvas top and right!

Lorant Voros
12-03-2009, 03:51 PM
Welcome to BPN; the best place to get honest critics and grow as a photographer.

Very nice first post, beautiful colors and detail. I agree with the suggestions regarding the composition.

Danny J Brown
12-03-2009, 04:22 PM