PDA

View Full Version : Reflections of Balanced Rock at Lake Roman

Roman Kurywczak
02-15-2008, 06:07 PM
I figured you were getting tired of the night shots.:D First let me say for those of you who have been there numerous times.........this is NOT a digital manipulation or combination! Straight shot with the Mark lll and a 17-40 lens @ 29mm. F22 at 1/50 of a sec. The title gives a little away as to the how. I've been doing this shot for quite a few years with many different versions......and as far as I can tell........only 1 who have this. First time with "iceberg".
I'm going out in a few hours and will try to answer questions as they come in..........otherwise will tell all tomorrow.:eek: Only minor/normal corrections in CS2. Camera was placed on a rice bag (2nd clue).
Opinions always welcomed,
Roman

Small group photo tours
www.roaminwithroman.com (http://www.roaminwithroman.com)

Alfred Forns
02-15-2008, 08:58 PM
So many possibilities !!!!! The first thing that comes to mind is trying an HDR? Would love seeing detail on the far formation and the small shadow on the left

Not sure how low you were? On the ground with the rice bag? How about going the other way and climb a ladder !!!!! Would alter the horizon and show off the water Such a nice place I can see how I would be addicted !!!!

Judd Patterson
02-15-2008, 11:03 PM
Not exactly a region of the U.S. associated with many lakes. :) This must be a shallow depression that sometimes fills with rainwater/snow melt? Great job to work the scene and capture these nice red rock reflections.

Roman Kurywczak
02-16-2008, 12:03 AM
Hi Alfred and Judd,
Next time I will try the HDR if not a pano. Judd is a little warmer as this is a shallow depression. Ladder won't work because the lake is only 3ft. wide by 2 inches deep. That's the last of the hint's. I'll post the rest tomorrow.
Roman

Robert Amoruso
02-16-2008, 09:57 AM