PDA

View Full Version : Howdy - New to Birding

Mike Eddinger
11-06-2009, 11:09 AM
Hello all. I am NOT new to photography, but I am new to trying to capture good bird photos. I currently am working with a Canon 7D and a Canon 100-400mm IS tele.

I did do some work this year set up near my bird feeders. Captured some good shots (for me), but I am always amazed by some of the stunning shots I see on this forum. I have a few technique questions, but I'd like to start with one on focus.

My shots (mainly with Canon 50D) this summer/fall were often not in sharp focus. They were good, but pixel peeping at 100%, they were not as sharp as some I have seen (albeit, I often realize I am looking at a much reduced shot on this forum and think "wow, that is incredibly sharp", then I look at mine zoomed to 100% on a 23" LCD and think "yuch, my focus is not that good).

So I have a question on focus technique. Which best describes what you do

1. I rely on autofocus, and my shots are usual very sharp
2. I rely on autofucus, and I get some critically shart pictures, but certainly not nearly all
3. I do NOT rely on autofocus, I manually focus when I can
4. My shots are sharp enough, you will drive yourself nuts pixel peeping at 100%

And

What shutter speed do you think is required to get a really crisp shot of a "stationary" bird (i.e. ya, its moving some while sitting, not flying) while camera is on a tripod, NOT using mirror lockup or timer.... i.e. immediate shutter release when I push the button.