PDA

View Full Version : Little Green Heron

Drew Wilson
02-13-2008, 07:09 PM
Hi all!
This is my first post on BPN and im happy to be part of such a great Forum.
I am relatively new to photography and i am interested in learning and improving in as many ways as possible, so i appreciate any and all critiques and comments you may offer.
Thanks so much for viewing!

Nikon D70s, 300mm hand held, Manual Exposure, ISO 400, 1/1000 sec-F5/6

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2073/2258598149_78d2d3a6d3_o.jpg

Alfred Forns
02-13-2008, 07:53 PM
HI Drew Big Welcome !!!!!! i like this image a lot The Green is in good position with a great head angle bg is not bad for would just evict the one branch at bottom and take a tad of the top for proportion

Lower angle I'm sure was not possible but would have cleaned the bg even more I like this a lot 1!!!

Will do a bit of work and post below !!! Cropped the bottom a bit and the top for proportion Evicted the bright branch and worked on the eye

Nonda Surratt
02-13-2008, 08:18 PM
Love the greens position, the scene and the colors, pretty cool.

Nice fixes by Alfred as well

Blake Shadle
02-13-2008, 08:35 PM
Hey Drew! Good to see you on BPN. You know me, and I agree that a lower angle would make this even better. The lily pads in the background being in focus distract a bit from your subject. One last thing :) I'm not a fan of the lily stem that looks like it goes into the little green's neck. Exposure is right on. Keep up the good work.

Edit: and I like Al's adjustments!

Alfred Forns
02-13-2008, 08:41 PM
Missed that stem Overlord !!!! Good call !!! :)

paul leverington
02-14-2008, 09:02 AM