PDA

View Full Version : On The Fence

Julie Kenward
10-29-2009, 08:34 PM
Yesterday afternoon I only had a few moments to shoot anything so I walked the fence in my yard and photographed almost every leaf that had gotten tangled there. This is one of my favorites.

Also, it's my first attempt at using Nik's Viveza so if the colors look a little wonky, it's probably just me playing with all the new controls. :D:D:D

Canon 40D, EF 100mm f/2.8 macro
f5 @ 1/100th, ISO 400
Manual mode, pattern metering, handheld, natural late afternoon sun
Processed in ACR, CS4 and Viveza...slight crop.

Desmond Chan
10-30-2009, 02:41 AM
Hmmm...did you re-arrange, do something to the leave? I asked because there seems to be a lot of..."coincidences" there :D

Anyhow, like the simple composition of this photo (perhaps it's not really that simple :)). Also like the color and sharpness. I'm ok with the dof.

Based on my first impression, I would be tempted to suggest cropping the left side to get rid of that part of the fence in the lower left hand corner. But then I'm also thinking that may have a part to play in the overall image. Anyhow, I do wish the leave stalk were not touching the bottom frame.

Julie Kenward
10-30-2009, 08:06 AM
Desmond, if I had rearranged the leaf I would have said so - I'm pretty big on "full disclosure." This really IS how it fell and how it stuck which is why I find some of these images so riveting - they fall during a rain storm and stick and then as they dry the leaves curl around the fence wire.

Seriously - next time you see a fence go take a look - most leaves shouldn't be where they are or be able to stay where they are - they just are!

Ed Vatza
10-30-2009, 09:17 AM
Interesting comp, Jules. I'm not a big fan of chain link fences since they tend to look and feel so harsh but it seems to work in this comp. I don't think the color looks "wonky" at all but I'm not sure I would recognize "wonk" if I saw it.