PDA

View Full Version : Breakfast In Chives

Tomislav Kljucaric
10-29-2009, 04:09 PM
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/1209/breakfastinchives.jpg

Hello Everybody,

I have never sent any of my photos on the photo forums, so this is my first . Since I am new in photography, I will appreciate your sincere critique and any advice would be very usefull for me. So, just go ahead :o...

I have mentioned that I have a Fuji S5, but I just purchased it, so this is a photo taken with my Nikon D40x.

Nikon D40x, Nikkor 60 mm 2.8.
F/7,1.
Shutter speed, 1/125s.
Aperture priority
ISO:200
Hand held

Regards from Croatia

Sorry for my bad english.

Christopher Miller
10-29-2009, 05:00 PM
Big welcome, Tomislav! :)

You have excellent details and sharpness on the fly, and I like the colors and DOF. Would be nice if the yellow area in the BG extended all the way up to the top. Very well done and looking forward to your next one!

Ed Vatza
10-29-2009, 06:09 PM
Welcome Tomislav.

I agree with much of what Christopher has said. The detail is excellent. The flower adds a nice touch. And I do wish for a more uniform background. Otherwise, I would like to see you work a little more on the composition which seems a little flat and ordinary. For example I think it would be better to have turned the camera so the flower comes out of the upper right corner and the insect is entering the flower from the lower left corner. As a bonus that may have move some of the yellow out of the frame and increased the amount of the cream-colored background.

Mike Moats
10-29-2009, 07:41 PM
Hey tomislav, nice to see you posting. I think this looks great. Good sharp details hwere it needs to be, and it would have be nice if the yellow went to the top, but it's not a big problem. Well done.

Julie Kenward
10-29-2009, 08:25 PM
First things I thought when I saw this were 1) rotate the image and 2) crop a bit off the bottom of the flower.