PDA

View Full Version : Canon to Nikon opinions sought

Ben Page
02-13-2008, 01:41 AM
Hi folks,

I'm after some objective opinions regarding switching from Canon to Nikon.

A little background; I'm a keen amateur wildlife photographer scraping together every last penny I can to feed my hobby, currently using a Canon 1D mark 3 (ok, you can guess the reason for this post!) with a variety of lenses from 24-105mm up to 100-400mm (including the lovely 300mm f/2.8 which is my primary lens of choice). I'm noticing more and more recently that the camera is front focusing on slow, steady moving subjects when they are coming straight at me (e.g. otter swimming) and miss focusing on relatively static subjects (e.g. birds sitting on a perch) even though things look in focus through the view finder. Don't get me wrong, when it's right the images are superb. It's just I'm feeling it's more difficult to trust that when I press the shutter button, any errors are down to me rather than the equipment. It's really starting to put a dampener on my enjoyment of photography.

My camera hasn't been through the Canon fix (registered on 14th Jan, heard nothing back yet), but having read many reports about the varied results I'm not too convinced that it will fix the issues.

I've been reading many good things about the Nikon D3 and am thinking about trading in all my Canon kit and getting a D3 with the Nikon 200-400mm lens (I'll probably have to throw in a few quid too after the quotes I've received). I think this will be sufficient for my needs for starters and I can always add lenses and accessories later (overtime and understanding wife permitting!).

Basically, I'd appreciate hearing from either those who have made the switch or those who considered it but stuck with Canon.

Thanks for your time.

Steve Ashton
02-13-2008, 04:41 AM