PDA

View Full Version : RFI: Photography degrees and studies online

Jim Poor
02-11-2008, 07:14 PM
I asked this elsewhere a while back, but thought I'd get different perspectives here.

I've looked at New York Institute of Photography, but they don't offer a degree.

I'm looking at Academy of Art University as well.

Any other recommendations for either online degrees (BA and up) or something in VA?

I know I'll probably get better and faster instruction from IPTs and the like, but with an Army career, I put my degree on hold for 17 years. My day job is great and I'm doing really well considering that I have 230+ credits but no degree, but I might as well get a degree in something I'm interested in to make sure all the doors stay open.

Thoughts?

Amy DeStefanis
02-23-2008, 03:15 PM
I'm not sure about the degree in photography online, but I can say this about working and getting a degree: Every class you take now is one you won't have to take later. So, while you're busy trying to decide how to go about it, just take one class. You might turn around one day and realize they add up to a degree. I would think your other hours would transfer to give you at least some headway toward your goal.

I say this because I have a family member who has spent about 20 years wishing she'd gotten a degree, but lamenting that it would take too long to do and work as well. If she'd just started slowly, and step-by-step, she would have it. So, it's a subject that I've thought about a lot, and I understand the frustration.

So, regardless of whether it's in photography, or just finishing what you already have started, once you get going, you will be able to look back at your accomplishment, and before you know it, you'll be graduating. It all adds up - whether it's one class or a crushing load that is impossible to live with.