PDA

View Full Version : Stumped by the beauty of the Kalahari

Morkel Erasmus
09-26-2009, 06:07 AM
Hi everyone...

During our recent trip to the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, we decided one morning to stay in bed a while longer and not drive out at sunrise to look for game. Well, at least, the others in our party (including my wife) laid in. I was up looking for landscape shots around our camp. :)

I created this image using auto-exposure bracketing and doing a manual gradient mask blend in CS3. I have many images in this sunrise sequence, all showing different tones, clouds and contrasts. This just happens to be the first one I processed. I spent quite a bit of time on it and am happy with the result.

As I am quite new to DSLR photography in general (only bought my first DSLR in January 2009) and especially to landscape composing and shooting, I would very much like your inputs to this shot, and how to improve it (and even how to compose should the opportunity arise again).

I wanted to share with the viewer the long golden grass, signature camelthorn trees and superb light and skies of the Kalahari. I used this fallen tree stump as FG anchor and leading line, and f22 to flare the rising sun.

Techs:
Canon 1000D with 18-55mm IS @ 18mm
f22 @ ISO-100 @ AEB (-1,0,1)

Kobus Tollig
09-26-2009, 06:29 AM
Great shot and comp here for me well done. Only nit for me here is the slight halos around the trees. Miss you bud.

Morkel Erasmus
09-26-2009, 06:32 AM
thanks bud! I can't see the halos on the TIFF so I assume it crept in during resizing and sharpening :)
miss you too - but I'm only a phone call away ;) will give you a ring during the week...

Hazel Grant
09-26-2009, 07:39 AM
Fine capture! I like the sun spot and it's rays. Just a tiny thing....I would try to remove that one grass blade that seems to be reaching for the sun in front of the log. I can't see the halo either, but guess my monitor is not catching it.

Harold Davis
09-26-2009, 08:17 AM