PDA

View Full Version : photo-printer for a poor college student

D.J. McNeil
09-09-2009, 09:55 AM
i need some help.

i have been photographing wildlife for about 3 years now and recently realized that i dont have a single print of my work!

so i am officially in the market for a printer.

the problem is: i have very little money, (college does that to ya), only about 100-150$

i need something that will make photo prints AND black-and-white on computer paper for homework assignments.

i dont need immaculate prints, just something that will look nice, you know?

I just dont want to go out and buy a printer, only to find out that i have to buy a bunch of cords, and software and crap to have it work for me.

I know that it's a lot to ask, but if anybody can help me, it's you guys!

thanks for your help,

DJ

Chris Hansen
09-09-2009, 10:12 AM
D.J.

You are in a tough spot. Many of the Epson printers out there would probably fit the bill for you. The primary disadvantage is that the cost of the ink can really drive the cost of those prints up.You might want to look into some of the print services that are out there. That way you can tweak your images in PS and then just send them a disk or online file. Let's see what some of the others suggest.

God bless and good luck,

chris

William Malacarne
09-09-2009, 10:23 AM
Your best bet would be to watch for print sales at places like Adorama or B&H that have pretty decent sales on having them do the prints.

Bill

Arlon Motsch
09-09-2009, 10:51 AM
I have a decent printer but after messing with the ink for awhile I deceide to try sam's and costco. I have not printed a single shot since I found how well the local costco did my prints. I drive right past them on the way home so it's an easy stop for me. At $1.39 for an 8x10 and $3 for a 16x20, they even do 12x36 for my panoramas (main reason I got the r1800 in the first place).. By the time I buy the paper and ink, I probably loose money trying to print them myself.

Mark Fuge