PDA

View Full Version : lousy Bald Eagle photo

Cheryl Flory
02-09-2008, 10:38 PM
This is not my best bird photo, but it is my latest one with a problem. By the time you crop in to the bird, the picture is quite noisy. It was a very overcast day and the picture is at 100% (I think) I used a Canon 40D, f8.0 1/1600, ISO 400, 120mm, exposure +.33. (As you can tell from the picture, I am a novice at this.) I did not do any adjusting on the picture except to add a bit of contrast to the head, so you can see exactly what is the problem. My question is should I just not try to shoot birds which are not close by if my only lens at this time is a 28-135 IS? :confused:

Comments very much appreciated! I am going to Florida for a vacation at the end of March, and am anxious to improve my photography as much as possible before then.

Cheryl Flory
02-09-2008, 10:52 PM
Obviously, I couldn't get the picture to load. Is there a way to save pictures that are too noisy? Or too small?

Alfred Forns
02-09-2008, 10:57 PM
Cheryl did you try what I suggested? If it won't load email it to me an will upload

Will wait to see the image to comment but noise (reasonable) can be removed Noise Ninja does a very good job !!! Easy to use

Alfred Forns
02-09-2008, 11:18 PM
Your bird is flying Cheryl !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For this bird the exposure is a bit under When we try to open up to lighten noise will appear They are tough to save

You got a nice wing spread Would like more room for the bird Its hard to evaluate the sharpness with the image being a big dark Just remember to open up at least one (probably more on overcast days !!!

Cheryl Flory
02-09-2008, 11:18 PM
Thank you for you help, Alfred! I appreciate it.

Judd Patterson
02-09-2008, 11:37 PM