PDA

View Full Version : tennis elbow

stuart wanuck
08-13-2009, 08:22 PM
any experience in preventing tennis elbow in constantly lifting hand held heavy telephoto lenses?ps what
about hunching your shoulder when camera is on tripod?any answers?

Jim Neiger
08-13-2009, 08:28 PM
I got a serious case of tennis elbow from too much photograpy, but not in my left arm which bears all the weight, it was in my right arm from holding and squeezing the camera body. I went to the doctor and got a cortizone shot in my elbow. This was followed by 9 months of wearing a brace on my forearm. I haven't had a problem since. To prevent it from happening I would suggest wearing the arm brace which may be purchased at your local pharmacy.

Ákos Lumnitzer
08-13-2009, 08:40 PM
Thanks for that Jim. I heard those cortizone injections hurt like he11. Is that true? I have TE in both elbows - much worse in left - from when I worked in the scuba industry, from lifting tanks all the time I guess.

Fabs Forns
08-13-2009, 09:33 PM
Stuart, you can use the brace on your arm the sell for tennis elbow at the sport store. You can wear it all day and it does help a lot.

Julie Kenward
08-14-2009, 02:16 PM
I've had this same thing happen but learned that there's a difference between "tennis elbow" and "golfer's elbow." From what my doctor said, if the inside of the joint is bothering you it's golfer's elbow and if it's the top or outer area then it's tennis elbow. Mine was golfer's elbow and it comes and goes but usually responds with an arm brace and a few tylenol.

The reason I'm sharing this is because there are different braces for both conditions - get the one that applies to you! (And double check my info - I hope I'm remembering this correctly.)

Jim Neiger
08-14-2009, 02:27 PM
Thanks for that Jim. I heard those cortizone injections hurt like he11. Is that true? I have TE in both elbows - much worse in left - from when I worked in the scuba industry, from lifting tanks all the time I guess.