PDA

View Full Version : Image Sharpness - an investigation

Sid Garige
08-04-2009, 07:37 PM
Well.. Here is how the whole story started. I posted an image on avian forum in which I thought both birds were sharp. Link here
http://www.birdphotographers.net/forums/showthread.php?t=42612

I have a Sony Vaio 13.3" laptop (1280x800 resolution and a pixel size of 0.2238 mm). I use a 19" Dell LCD monitor (1440 x 900 resolution and a pixel size 0.2842 mm) as external display primary display and extend desktop to 13" screen. So technically my 19" LCD monitor is the primary display unit.

Today I received quite a few critics saying both subject heads are too soft and Arite posted both heads are petty sharp. I did some research trying to understand why same image looked sharp to me and Arite not to others.

I studied the image of 4 different monitors with different resolution and pixel size. Later on I followed instruction from an online tutorial with calibration images and calibrated my monitor and I was stunned with the results. I will post link to the tutorial at the end of the message.

Monitor 1.
Dell laptop Screen -17" Resolution - 1440 x 900 Pixel size - 0.2543 mm
Image looked really soft. Did not see any details in the head.

Monitor 2
Dell LCD Screen -21" Resolution - 1680 x 1050 Pixel Size - 0.2692 mm
Better than 17" but not as good as 19" Monitor.

Monitor 3
Dell LCD Screen -19" Resolution - 1440 x 900 Pixel Size - 0.2842 mm
More or less same as what I saw on my screen.

I called couple of my co-workers and asked their opinion. Both of them express the same opinion.

Monitor 4
Sony Vaio LCD Screen - 13.3" Resolution - 1280x800 Pixel Size - 0.2238 mm
I was shocked to see image looked much sharper than the one on 19" monitor.

I came to a concussion that pixel size will effect the image sharpness. One can not judge image sharpness based on jpg image unless they have same resolution and pixel size.