PDA

View Full Version : Eurasian hobby (Falco subbuteo)

Rob McEwen
08-04-2009, 03:28 PM
Hello all,

this is my first post - please be gentle with me :o I'm a bit of a novice when to comes to the 'digital darkroom' and Photoshop (I'm using ACR and CS3). I've read loads of fantastically-useful tips and tutorials on BPN and it's been a fantastic help but I'd be grateful for your advice specific on to how to deal with one of my images please.
I'd be grateful for your help and advice with my image of a Eurasian Hobby (Falco subbuteo).

Apologies for those who know but I'm not sure that the hobby is found in the Americas (Wikipedia entry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eurasian_Hobby)). They're the size of a kestrel and are like the smaller, more hyperactive sibling of peregrines :) They hunt flying insects (butterflies and dragonflies) which they eat on the wing and, later on in the breeding season, move onto hunting hirudines. They hunt and catch swifts on the wing which demonstrates how aerobatic and spectacular they are! They're an amazing bird to watch if you ever get the chance.

My image was taken on a very sunny day (we get them occasionally in the UK ;)) with harsh light and the bird took me by surprise (tech details ISO 200, 1/2000th, F8, manual) so it wasn't an ideal situation. They move so fast you don't get much warning ! :)

http://www.mcewenrk.f2s.com/Images/RMcEwen_hobbyv2.jpg

I've adjusted the image using levels and curves layers in CS3. I've also used an exposure layer and mask to try to reduce the hotspots whilst maintaining the shadows and contrast in the bird's underbelly and under-wings. Unfortunately the sky now looks washed-out to me as it was a very deep blue when taken. I've tried (not on the shot posted) using a layer mask to add back the original sky but I'm not sure if I've done so correctly as the bird looks very false with an embossed effect.