View Full Version : My First Loon

denise ippolito
08-03-2009, 07:35 PM
Canon 1D Mark III
100-400 mm
ISO 400
1/1600 sec. at f/5.6
HH Shot from a canoe

This image was taken in Northern Maine, This is my first time ever seeing a Loon and it was amazing. I will always remember the echoing of the calls around the lake.

Ákos Lumnitzer
08-03-2009, 07:42 PM
Really cool action. Was it landing, taking off or chasing another Loon? Not the usual chick-on-the-back I see online. Very cool actually. Love the splashes of water all around it. Glad you got to see them. :) The blacks below the neck may be a bit dark, but I am on my work monitor. TFS. :)

Ed Schneider
08-03-2009, 07:50 PM
Congrats on the lifer and very cool image, Denise! I've seen them a few times, but never close enough for something like this, Bravo:)

Art Peslak
08-03-2009, 08:20 PM
Very nice action shot from the perfect angle.

Harshad Barve
08-03-2009, 08:25 PM
what a cool action, lot of water splash , nice postion and details. Agrred with Akos on dark areas
Nice image all in all
TFS

Axel Hildebrandt
08-03-2009, 09:48 PM
I like the takeoff pose and splashes and might crop a bit off the bottom. I've never heard their sounds in the field but can imagine how eerie it must sound.

Dave Barnes
08-04-2009, 12:28 AM
Hi Denise, it is always getting a first. This bird has got fantastic feather colour/patterns. (I would love to see one)
Moment well captured, good exposure and detail. Super shot well done.

Dominic Cantin
08-04-2009, 01:51 AM
I like the action here ! WOW !!! I like that we see the red of the eye. The details are well preserved in this image hard to obtain !!! Congrats on your first loon :cool:

Dom :)

Milan V
08-04-2009, 02:49 AM
Great low angle action image.

denise ippolito
08-04-2009, 06:38 AM
Thankyou everyone for your comments.

Charles Glatzer
08-04-2009, 07:30 AM
Denise,