PDA

View Full Version : Gold on Gold

dannykillsbugs
07-29-2009, 12:46 PM
I took this using a tripod and a remote at about 8'.
Exposure time 1/60
ISO 200
Focal Length 300mm

I captured this in my backyard using a tripod with a remote. This is my first post and I'm hungry for knowledge as I am new to photography so don't worry about hurting my feelings with your comments.

Ilija Dukovski
07-29-2009, 01:33 PM
Hi Danny and welcome, this is a great place if you are hungry for knowledge.
The learning curve here is quite steep.

I love the Head angle and eye contact that bird made with the camera.
Very nice. Also you don't get yellow on yellow that often either:). I like the bird and the plant too.
You don't have detail in the yellows and part of the white edges on the plant which means the image is probably overexposed.
You could try to recover them in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) with the recovery slide. Works like magic.
I think your bird is not perfectly in-focus. I never use remote, always grab the camera, it would be good if you tell us
what AF setting did you use. I almost always use continuous. In general it is good to tell as many settings details as possible so people can have an idea what can be changed to improve the image.
You could go with ISO400 and faster than 1/60 too. I think most cameras' noise is OK at ISO400.
Composition wise I would crop from right and put more space left, even though the plant stem must go.

I would suggest that you check the Educational Resources Forum, lot's of great stuff there. There's excellent tutorial there on yellows exposure. Also Eager to Learn Forum is great place, that's where I started.

Cheers and welcome again,

dannykillsbugs
07-29-2009, 02:38 PM
Thank you! I appreciate all the info.

Jason Franke
07-29-2009, 03:03 PM
I think I would crop out most of the right side of the image, maybe even tighten it down to a vertical. There's just so much empty area there that isn't really doing anything for me.