PDA

View Full Version : Feral parakeet

Kerry Perkins
07-27-2009, 11:47 PM
I've been acting like a "stalkerazzi" for the last eight months, trying to get a clear shot of these Black-hooded Parakeets! This is the closest I've gotten yet and still have a ways to go... Better BG than my hawk pic, but only by 50%... :) This colony of about thirty birds lives in Sycamore Canyon, on the SoCal coast north of Malibu. They are thriving nicely, considering that they are a tropical bird and they are adapting to the cooler weather here. I've been chasing them for so long they seem like old friends. They are gregarious, noisy, and I just love it when they stop for a few minutes...

50D, EF400 f/5.6L
AV f/5.6@1/2000 EC 0 ISO 400
HH, no flash, evaluative metering

Did some NR on the BG with Topaz Denoise, used the blur tool on the leaves close to the bird as they were too sharp. Cropped away about 50%.

Thanks for your comments.

William Malacarne
07-28-2009, 12:04 AM
Kerry

Nice photo...shows his colors well and got a very nice eye.
They are in several places throughout So Cal. I have seen some a few years ago in Pasadena.

Here is some info on them....they also would like Feral parrots to be reported for tracking purposes.

http://californiaparrotproject.org/black_hooded_parakeet.html

Bill

Kerry Perkins
07-28-2009, 12:24 AM
Hi Bill, I contacted the CPP several months ago! I reported the colony size and location and offered to donate photos. Never heard back from them, but I'm hoping that the information was added to the database. I have also seen feral flocks in Westlake and the San Fernando Valley. Always interesting to talk to folks at the campground here and hear about other colonies around the area!

OvidiuCavasdan
07-28-2009, 01:09 AM
I like the diagonal placement of bird and the HA. Interesting composition with the distant BG and the oof leaves separated by the diagonal line of the bird. Nice colors. I like it!

Lance Peters
07-28-2009, 03:47 AM