PDA

View Full Version : Playing in the mud

Jorge Rodrigues
07-07-2009, 08:45 AM
Hi,

This is my first post at Birdphotographers.net and I believe I should introduce myself. My name is Jorge Rodrigues and I am a Portuguese amateur photographer eager to learn with some of the pros on the site. My professional live (e.g. from which I can make a living :-)) allows me to travel extensively throughout the world, and particularly Africa, therefore I can sometimes join work and pleasure and go out for a shoot.

This photo is from last April, when the first rains of the rainy season reached the Masai Mara. We spotted a big family of lions with 4 cubs, and after waiting for a few hours in the rain, they started playing in a mud hole nearby. This is one of the shots:

http://www.wonderbirds.com/G3J7242.jpg

I used my Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III with the EF 600, f/4, 1/60, ISO 1000, from the Safari van window using one of Arthur Morris' fantastic bean bags.

Regards to all,
Jorge Rodrigues

Harshad Barve
07-07-2009, 09:13 AM
Big Welcome Jorge
what a grand opening image,
Cub is looking so curious
Looking forward for more
Harshad

Sabyasachi Patra
07-07-2009, 10:33 AM
Hi Jorge,
A warm welcome to BPN!

A lovely first post. I like the stare and the composition. I might have liked a little bit more space at the top. I like the texture in the mud. Look forward to more images from you.

Members and forum contributors are required to use their full name as user id. You may send a Private Message to James Shadle to change your user id.

Cheers,
Sabyasachi

Deborah Harrison
07-07-2009, 12:51 PM
Hi Jorge,
Welcome to BPN!
What a fabulous image - sharp; the light in the eyes which are full of intent and the wonderful contrast between the brown background and the orange of the lion. I personally think the position of the lion within the frame works very well.
A great and unusual capture - looking forward to seeing more of your images.

David Fletcher
07-07-2009, 12:58 PM