PDA

View Full Version : Avalon Pier Sunrise

Dave Woeller
06-20-2009, 10:27 AM
This is a further adventure into HDR techniques. This is a 5 shot hdr with brackets from -2 stops to + 2 stops. I am trying to keep the tone mapping subtle so as not to get too far onto the illustration look. I cropped a touch from the bottom to eliminate some distracting tire prints. One pass of noise reduction with Topaz denoise was used. As I am still learning the process, all thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Canon 50d, 24-105 lens @ 80MM

Fabs Forns
06-20-2009, 08:39 PM
Tone mapping looks good to me, does not have the "fake" HDR look. You may want to try some more micro smoothing to see if it helps the clouds.
I do have a couple of problems with the composition, though. The sun is almost merging with the light poles and the pier's perspective seems to get bigger at the end instead of the soothing vanishing point that would makes smaller and further into the right of the frame. I'd love to see what Roman has to say :)

Dave Phillips
06-20-2009, 09:06 PM
Really a nice HDR blend Dave........sun position mentioned and I see need for about 1º cw rotation
to level the horizon. The short distance perspective looks fine to me, as you are near parallel
to the pier.......colors are wonderful.

cw rotation and slight darkening of shadow....just as an option
http://i40.tinypic.com/25077ea.jpg

Dave Woeller
06-21-2009, 06:24 AM