PDA

View Full Version : Fish River Canyon - Panorama (Main View Point)

Morkel Erasmus
06-13-2009, 09:34 AM
http://i578.photobucket.com/albums/ss230/Lekrom777/canyon-mainviewpoint.jpg

Recently we hiked the Fish River Canyon in Namibia - it is the second largest canyon in the world after the Grand Canyon. This is a stitching of 4 vertically composed photos taken from the main view point before we descended down the canyon for the hike.

This is my first landscape post on BPN and I am really an amateur in landscape, hoping to get valuable input from all you experts and semi-pro's to help me improve.

Taken with a Canon EOS 1000D and 18-55mm IS lens.
f11.0 - SS 1/250 - handheld - ISO 200

Thanks!!

Ed Cordes
06-13-2009, 06:53 PM
Wonderful image. The detail is great. I wonder if a bit more saturation on the rocks would "pop" it more?

Arthur Morris
06-13-2009, 07:07 PM
I love the detail down inside the canyon. The lower left foreground pales by comparision. Depending on the phsyical configuration it would have been great if you could have gotten right up to the edge and looked into the canyon. That said lightening the canyon and then increasing a the contrast a bit would improve it as presented.

Morkel Erasmus
06-13-2009, 11:19 PM
thanks for the feedback Ed & Art! I will play around with the settings you suggested.

Roman Kurywczak
06-14-2009, 09:39 AM
Hi Morkel,
Welcome to the forum! Very good advice given above as i agree with lightening the canyon areas a bit and added contrast will provide a bit more impact also. The lower FG area would have been more effective if there was a bush or something in the area......but as presented it is a bit overpowering so Artie's suggestion for a different angle is the correct one. Pretty good for a first post and the tweaks suggested will only improve it further. Do also post the f-stop, SS, and ISO as this will further help us with recommendations. Nice first post and looking forward to more!

Robert Amoruso
06-14-2009, 09:41 AM