PDA

View Full Version : Showy Ladyslippers

Steve Patterson
06-04-2009, 09:07 PM
State flower of Minnesota. This was taken with a gold reflector, which highlights the flowers and makes for the black background...but all natural light (no flash). Beautiful bog flower...not unlike an orchid.

40D 100mm f/2.8 macro
1/250 f/10 iso 400

http://www.pbase.com/spatterson/image/99577340/original.jpg

John Lowin
06-04-2009, 09:18 PM
Hi Steve, Not unlike an orchid, because it is one. Cypripedium regina. It is an incredibly beautiful native North American woodland flower. I have been growing these under lights for about five years, but am still waiting to successfully bloom them.

I like your composition, but would like to see some more room on three sides, T, R, & L. Thanks for sharing. - John

State flower of Minnesota. This was taken with a gold reflector, which highlights the flowers and makes for the black background...but all natural light (no flash). Beautiful bog flower...not unlike an orchid.

http://www.pbase.com/spatterson/image/99577340/original.jpg

Julie Kenward
06-05-2009, 07:20 AM
Steve, I really like the use of the gold reflector in this case because it really adds a special glow and warmth to the greenery in the image. It does leave the BG about 90% dark and I'd suggest either bringing it all the way down to knock out the few places where we can see through to the BG or else use a shadows/highlight adjustment to open it up a bit more so we can get a little more detail in the BG...either would work in this case.

The only thing I find really distracting to the image is the one small stem in the foreground that doesn't really go with anything - I'd clone that out if you aren't opposed to such things.

Roman Kurywczak
06-05-2009, 08:46 AM
Hey Steve,