PDA

View Full Version : Common Nighthawk

Bob Shaw
05-18-2009, 01:53 PM
I don't believe I've ever seen one on a perch before. It had been on or close to the ground when I walked by, and flew a few feet to this shoulder high perch and went back to sleep. Blurred the bg, but I'm not very good at cloning. Thanks for any comments. Bob

50D,300f4+1.4TC,@f5.6,ISO400,1/800,0.0EV,spot metered

http://i221.photobucket.com/albums/dd276/BobandPat/whipporwill.jpg

Brian Barcelos
05-18-2009, 02:29 PM
I really like this one. Great exposure, feather detail looks great. Would be better with the intersecting and top left branch's removed.
Brian

Bob Shaw
05-18-2009, 02:39 PM
Thanks Brian, but I have to correct my I.D. It's a common nighthawk. Duh

Harold Davis
05-18-2009, 05:19 PM
only seen the nighthawks buzzing around like jets. this is different. would clone out those intersecting branches. might tone down the whites a little too.

Axel Hildebrandt
05-18-2009, 06:24 PM
Great find and eye contact. Could you have moved to your right? Removing the branches in the BG and increasing the color temperature would improve this image a lot. Please post the techs, it helps with commenting.

Bob Shaw
05-18-2009, 07:05 PM
Sorry for the left out info Axel... and after it landed and I saw it wasn't going anywhere, I positioned myself for the best morning light and bg. Thanks, Bob

Ilija Dukovski
05-18-2009, 09:50 PM
Nice texture and colors, not an easy bird to spot.
I agree with Axel about the angle, there's tons of discussion
and info on Head Angle issue in Educational Resources forum.
I think it is very much worth reading.

When it comes to cloning I would suggest to try Quick Mask
especially for big pieces like these. It is covered in Artie's
Digital Basics and it is quite easy done after a bit of practice.

Stu Bowie
05-19-2009, 12:29 AM