PDA

View Full Version : Morning Sun

Don Berendsen
05-09-2009, 02:08 AM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum. I'm a self-taught artist who's been dabbling in drawing and painting for about 10 years and am just starting out with serious photography. I have negligible experience with a camera outside of program mode. The image below was taken at the Royal Botanic Gardens in Sydney on my first day with my new DSLR.

The image details are:

Olympus E-3 with 12-60 lens @ 60mm hand held in natural light, 1/80 sec. F8.0, 0.0 EV exposure comp.

Aperture Priority
Auto WB
Picture Mode: Natural
Saturation: 0
Contrast: -1
Sharpness: -1
Gradation: Auto

PP in Photoshop

Brightness -10, Contrast +36

Hue/Saturation
Master: H +10 S +28 L +9
Yellows: H -14 S +5 L -18
Greens: H -16 S -2 L -7
Blues: H +2 S +1 L +3

This is my second version of this image. I felt that the subject had more to offer than what was presented in my first version so tried a different approach. I welcome and comments but in particular am interested in feedback on the composition and PP. Since the crop is so significant I was going to post links to the original image and my first version with the automatic parsing off but wasn't sure if that would violate the one image per post guideline.

Thanks for taking a look.

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1483/p4220210square.jpg

Gordon Craig
05-09-2009, 08:12 AM
I think the composition on this is real nice. The white is a little intense and I would have darkened the highlights in Photoshop. But that is simply my opinion. Overall it is a very nice picture.

Bruce Murden
05-09-2009, 08:41 AM
Hi Don. Welcome to BPN! I like the abstract comp here. Good interplay of lit edges and light and shadow giving a good shape and lighting study.