PDA

View Full Version : Monopod - help please

Anders Nielsen
01-31-2008, 05:48 PM
I am looking for a monopod and a head for my EOS 400D and EF 400mm f/5.6 L. I was thinking about getting the Bogen / Manfrotto 682B (3231) and the Manfrotto 393 Gimbal head.

I have never used a gimbal head before and I can't try it before buying it. My real question is if it will be overkill for a 400 5.6 lens - is it possible to balance it well?

I allready have a Manfrotto tripod but I am going to Peru (the Amazon) and I don't want to take a heavy tripod if I can "settle" for a monopod.

Any experiences with the monopod is welcome too!!:)

Thanks in advance
Anders

Robert O'Toole
01-31-2008, 06:20 PM
The 400F5.6 is one of my favorite all time handholding BIF lenses.

For monopod use, maybe try a tilt head and not a full on gimble head. A tilt head offers flexibility for not much weight and size. I use it with a QQR clamp.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5498-REG/Bogen_Manfrotto_3232_3232_Swivel_Tilt_Head.html

I would recommend a CF gitzo really if possible to pack and if it is in the budget.

Robert

Anders Nielsen
01-31-2008, 06:34 PM
Th Gitzos are a bit over my budget as I prefer tripods when I am not travelling. I got the idea that the 3 legs on the Manfrotto monopod would add some stability for slower shutterspeeds and thought that the Gimbal would work nice on static subjects if a remotecontrol is used to release the shutter.

I may be wrong, but if so please let me know.

Could you explain me the difference between a tilt head and a ball head - to me they look a like.

Anders

James Prudente
01-31-2008, 07:59 PM
Here is a great solution. Expecially if you add a Wimberley Sidekick for the longer lenses.

http://reallyrightstuff.com/mmRRS/Others/MonopodSolution.pdf

Hope this helps.

Jim

Alfred Forns
01-31-2008, 08:16 PM