PDA

View Full Version : First Post - Just an Anhinga.

Bob Blanchard
01-01-2008, 07:55 PM
Hi all,

Sure am glad to read about this Forum in the BAA Newsletter! I definitely need the critiques! I'm new to Avian Imagery, so all help is welcome.

Thought I'd start by putting up one of my favorite images from the summer. I realize it's nothing exotic, but I like it. What I saw in this composition was an opportunity for some nice reflections during a very calm day in Lakes Park. I was there shooting Macro in the gardens, and decided to check out the bird action. Morning light was getting a bit intense (nearly 10 AM), but still shootable. I spotted this Anhinga sitting on a rock that was exposed in the middle of the water (the rock would normaly be under a few feet of water, but low water levels had exposed it). I noticed he was near the bridge, and that the light was well angled for this image. I quietly made my way up onto the bridge to a point where I'd have minimal shadow, even light, and proper angle to pull off the reflection I wanted. I used the Canon 1DsMII with the 100-400L. I framed the bird the way I wanted and locked the lens in at 160mm. The rest was up to the bird. I simply waited for him to give me several nice catch-light poses, and selected this one out of several. I preferred the over-the-shoulder look. To me, the most important aspect other than reading the light was to get the DOF right on this. I wanted the bird completely in focus, and the reflection as well. EXIF: Canon 1DsMII, Canon 100-400 f:/4.5-5.6L (locked at 160mm), 1/200, f/7.1, Hand held with bridge used as support.

I have submitted this to a couple contests, but haven't heard anything yet. I have done a lot of work since this shot, and am improving all the time. Please be brutally honest, as it's the only way I get better. I hope the info I posted is corect in the spirit of this forum. I am definitely a newbie! Thanks!

http://CatcherofLight.smugmug.com/photos/238489200-X3.jpg