PDA

View Full Version : Easter Chicks

John Hawkins
04-12-2009, 02:55 PM
I photographed this trio today around the corner from my house. It took about an hour for them to come back out from when they first saw me. There are five chicks. Data = f/8, 1/1600, +0.7 ev, ISO 400, 500mm. Thanks for looking, John

Arthur Morris
04-12-2009, 03:06 PM
You did well in relatively harsh light. Good use of d-o-f. The BKGR boken looks a bit strange. What lens? The middle one has the best mug (and smile).

John Hawkins
04-12-2009, 03:09 PM
Thanks Artie, I used a Sigma 50-500mm. I have to say, I'm not real happy with the lens. Seems soft when opened too far. But then again, maybe it is me, I'm still learning. John

Randy Stout
04-12-2009, 03:09 PM
John:

Very cute grouping. Your patience was rewarded!

Nice to get a pretty clear look at all three heads. The light was harsh for you. The DOF wasn't quite enough to capture all three. With that light, you could have traded some shutter speed for additional DOF.

The background has quite a bit of noise, and would benefit from selective noise reduction.

Because they are so close, hopefully you will get some more shots at them. Try them again with better light, and I think it can be very sweet.

Thanks so much for sharing!

Randy

PS: I was typing while Artie was. I will defer to him on DOF, but would be curious to have had a bit more, to get all birds equally sharp. Certainly shouldn't have been any motion blur at that shutter speed. Particularly the left bird is very soft.

Arthur Morris
04-12-2009, 04:38 PM
Thanks Artie, I used a Sigma 50-500mm. I have to say, I'm not real happy with the lens. Seems soft when opened too far. But then again, maybe it is me, I'm still learning. John

Hi John, Thanks for the info. Do you know what Bokeh is?

Randy Stout
04-12-2009, 05:59 PM
Artie: