PDA

View Full Version : Blue Cohosh

Anita Bower
04-11-2009, 07:04 AM
My main question about this image is why it has noise. It shouldn't considering the settings. I'm just learning to use my new D300, so I likely have some settings wrong.

Nikon D300, f8, 1/80sec., ISO 400, auto WB, matrix metering, jpeg, tripod, natural light, in-camera sharpening off (I hope). Post processing PS7--levels, saturation, curves, clone, burn. crop a bit.

Thanks!

Richard Lovison
04-11-2009, 07:25 AM
I like the composition and colors. Beautiful image.

Are you capturing an in-camera jpeg or are you making a RAW capture? If your original is a jpeg and you do a number of saves after image processing, artifacts will be created in the process that look like noise. Using a low compression ratio when saving a jpeg will also generate artifacts.

There might be some in-camera noise reduction feature that needs to be turned on as well. Hopefully someone with Nikon experience can help you with this.

Julie Kenward
04-11-2009, 07:32 AM
Anita, I can't say for sure but noise comes in to an image where there is darkness AND when you use a high ISO. Now, personally, I don't consider 400 a "high" ISO but I have noticed that when I jump from 200 to 400 in low-light (meaning not bright sunshine) the darker areas will begin to show some grain or noise.

I would challenge you to put the image into Photoshop (if you have it...you do, don't you? It's so powerful!) and open a levels adjustment. If you have CS4 you can choose "brighten midtones" and this is what you'll see (if not, move the midtone slider to the 1.25 range.) I then ran a round of noise reduction and this was the final product. See how so much of the noise instantly went away? It's because I removed some of the darkness from the image. My guess is you were a little under exposed here and that, coupled with the 400 ISO produced the noise.

Anita Bower
04-11-2009, 05:07 PM
I appreciate the input.