PDA

View Full Version : Harlequin Duck

Ed Vatza
01-01-2008, 06:13 PM
Hi there. I made this image this past weekend at Barnegat Inlet in New Jersey using a Canon 30D and 400mm f/5.6L lens with a Canon 430EX Flash and Better Beamer mounted on a tripod.

1/500 sec at f/5.6; ISO 400; EC +2/3; FEC -2/3

I am relatively new to bird photography (less than year) and want to get better - much better. Be gentle but be honest. I am here to learn. Thanks.

And I hope I posted the image correctly.

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s1/EdV_02/054_1_2.jpg

Maxis Gamez
01-01-2008, 06:15 PM
Hi Ed. Welcome to BPN.

This is a very nice image, the composition works very well and the details, colors and exposure are all in the money. I wish the duck could be facing you a little more but that's out of our hands. But a fine image as it is.

Thanks for posting!

Fabs Forns
01-01-2008, 06:20 PM
Hi Ed,

Red carpet welcome to BPN!!

If you want to learn, you have come to the right place.

So let's get started. Wish for a lower angle, although by the look of the rock I may not have gone down either :)
A more pronounced head turn your way would have improved the image, making it more pleasing to the eye and most important, placing the eye and the tip of the bill on the same plane, thus yielding more sharpness in the latter.

Love the monochromatic fore and background, making the duck really stand out. Excellent exposure and sharpness!
Congratulations.

Alfred Forns
01-01-2008, 06:28 PM
I like Fabs suggestions Getting low will probably give you the fastest impact Do be careful with the wet rocks !!!!

Good tech settings lots of shadow detail !!!! Hoping to see lots more !!!!

Ed Vatza
01-01-2008, 06:46 PM
Maxis, Fabs, Al,

Thanks for the feedback as well as the suggestions. They are excellent but you knew that! :)