PDA

View Full Version : First Post

John Wilkerson
01-27-2008, 05:17 PM
Oh here goes. First post. I am very new to bird photography. A lot of the things I've photographed in the past weren't alive. I'm thinking Loon but not sure. Photographed MS gulf coast in Bay St. Louis.
Great forum I have learned a lot already and haven't posted before now.
Nikon D200 with Nikon 200-400 Zoom with Nikon 1.4 extender 550mm for this photo.
f 5.6 @ 1/640th ISO 640 Aperture priority, meter center weighted, very overcast sky.
Photographed before I started reading here.

Alfred Forns
01-27-2008, 05:40 PM
Hi John glad you got your feet wet and posted !!!!! Loon it is and a nice one I like the pose and head angle Would suggest to have a little more room in the direction the bird is facing (left) and would crop a bit top and bottom for proportion Exposure was right on and you picked great conditions A most for these birds !!!

Not sure what went on during processing but I think it lost something in the process Feathers look a bit funny

George DeCamp
01-27-2008, 06:34 PM
Hi John!

Welcome to BPN, glad to have you on board!

Agree with Al on the items mentioned and I also love the water here, nice! A flash would have given you a nice catch light which brings the birds to life! Also looks like the feathers were run thru Noise Ninja or something similar?

A very good start and hope you will post more for us!

John Wilkerson
01-27-2008, 10:15 PM
This is salt water inside two jetties at a boat launch on the Mississippi Sound. But I agree its one of the thing I like most about the photo. It was my first outing with a new lens. Don't really have a clue on the feathers. I made some minor adjustments as far as contrast and sharpened it a bit but thats it. But I agree the feathers don't look right. Thanks I am very anxious to learn from you guys.

Don Lown
01-28-2008, 11:43 PM
John....