PDA

View Full Version : Ft. Lauderdale advice sought.

Marc Mol
03-12-2009, 08:36 PM
I have an opportunity to travel to Ft Lauderdale, Florida in May with my wife and am seeking some advice on where there may be some nice nature reserve areas to photograph.
I'm from Sydney, Australia and this is my first time to the southern region of the USA.
Any help/tips gladly appreciated.

Cheers
Marc

Judd Patterson
03-13-2009, 07:05 AM
Just to the north you will find to man-made areas called Wakodahatchee and Green Cay Wetlands. These spots have boardwalk trails that are very popular with walkers and photographers. The birds in those areas are extremely tame. There is also nearby Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge. If you have more time to travel (probably 90 minutes one way) you could reach 1.5 million acres of Everglades National Park for wildlife and scenery. These are the more popular options, but there are also several county and state parks that can introduce you to remnants of Florida habitats saved from development. I am quite sure that you would find a lot of great wildlife on your trip! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Alfred Forns
03-16-2009, 08:06 AM
Hi Marc

Great advice form Judd and fully agree !!! Let me know the dates and might be able shoot with you !!

Everglades National Park will be slowing down by then, I think your better up at Waco and Green Cay. One other location near by is Long Key. Just google for directions. Its a rookery with lots birds returning at the end of the day ... fun shoot !!!

Marc Mol
03-16-2009, 07:23 PM
Thanks Judd & Al
I'll be in Ft Lauderdale from Sat 2nd May, after a long flight from Sydney, (flying out late Sat the 9th). And will be ready for action most likely from Mon 4th May. I also plan on fishing for your famous Tarpon, so I'll need a day for that as well.
To get to these reserves will mean a hire car?
I've heard of the Eco Kayak trips in the Glades, are these a good option for this time of year?