PDA

View Full Version : RAW Conversion Software

Jack Sturrock
01-26-2008, 10:40 AM
I am new to BPN and have already learned a lot, thanks! I am using Downloader Pro to download my images from my 20D. Curious as to which software would be the best for converting RAW images prior to going to PS CS3. I have Breezebrowser Pro and am starting to learn it, but was wondering if ACR would give me any advantage.

Mike Moats
01-26-2008, 02:07 PM
Hey Jack, a friend of mine is a commercial photographer who has work with every RAW converters on the market and he told me that a program called Light Zone offered the most options. I don't shoot in RAW mode so I can't give you any more info other than I believe it ran around $250.

Peter Hawrylyshyn
01-26-2008, 03:11 PM
Jack -
A very interesting question to which i don't think there's one simple answer. It depends a lot on how and what you photograph and your workflow. Artie swears by Breezebrowser in his BAA books/bulletins. Others swear by ACR. Then there are all the debates over accuracy of color conversions . As such software increasingly allows selective editing (sharpening, color corrections, ...) as part of the conversion process - the learning curve goes up accordingly. I think a lot of people are just recommending what they're most comfortable/familiar with, and what good are differences they cite if they don't apply to you. I've tried BB, ACR and Capture One - - and prefer ACR, but still trying to learn everything "new" that's in latest version/update. My suggestion would be to try the demo downloads and go with what works best for your workflow.

Robert O'Toole
01-26-2008, 03:30 PM
Good thread subject jack.

The answer depends on what equipment you are shooting with, and also what your needs and final usage of your work. Also DPR sometimes tests RAW converters and the results are surprising. Diffenences in resolution and detail vary quite a bit. Usually ACR comes out near the top usually.

FYI: