PDA

View Full Version : Arches

Michael Pancier
03-05-2009, 09:23 AM
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3411/3327790005_94c81db64d_o.jpg

I know it's a cliche shot, but I had to do it as I've never been here. I didn't get clouds or snow, so I decided to try a pano stitch.

I kept the shadow of some folks on the right to give some scale. Being here in person the view is amazing. I don't think any photo can really show the grandeur of this arch window.

Should I brighten up the left side a bit? Seems the lighting is a bit flat here, even at sunrise. Suggestions?

5d mark ii
24-105L @ 28mm
3 image stitch
f/14
ISO 100

Dennis "Curly" Buchner
03-05-2009, 06:33 PM
Great shot but on my screen it seems flat and needs a little pop but heck I'm just a rookie. Thanks for sharing this great photo Michael

Roman Kurywczak
03-06-2009, 08:06 AM
Hey Michael,
You were faced with the same delimma when we all stand there.....do I include the sky above the arch or not....I'm not lovin' the silhouettes on the right.....very tight to the frame and for me....they don't add to the image. I would definitely lighten the left shadow area a touch more and I'm still debating the sky....as I have the same version......and on others I went tighter. My preference is for removal of the left side.....we'll see what others chime in. Agree with the more pop too!
BTW....did you take a fisheye here??? that may have been wild.

Michael Pancier
03-06-2009, 10:05 AM
Hey Michael,
You were faced with the same delimma when we all stand there.....do I include the sky above the arch or not....I'm not lovin' the silhouettes on the right.....very tight to the frame and for me....they don't add to the image. I would definitely lighten the left shadow area a touch more and I'm still debating the sky....as I have the same version......and on others I went tighter. My preference is for removal of the left side.....we'll see what others chime in. Agree with the more pop too!