PDA

View Full Version : Osprey

Amanda Reed
01-23-2008, 01:52 PM
D300, 1/400, f/10, ISO 200, 400 mm... Osprey photo taken in the Everglades last week. I'm a newbie and this was the first time I had seen an Osprey so it was a really exciting day for me. I look forward to your feedback.

Rosl Roessner
01-23-2008, 02:18 PM
Hi Amanda,
you managed it well, to capture the blinking yellow eyes of both of the ospeys!
The right one looks straight into your camera! That's Great!
I just think, the focus point is not at the ospreys head but at the branches or leaves at the bottom of the picture.
You should not always rely on the automatic focus-point. Often it works better to choose the focus point manually ( at the head of the osprey) and than make the image. You should achieve enough Depth of field with f 10 if you focus carefully.
In addition it would be fantastic to get your camera to eye-level of the osprey.... But I don't know how to manage that in your location....

Best Regards,
Rosl

- sorry for my broken english-

Amanda Reed
01-23-2008, 02:22 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I would have loved to be more level with the birds as it was I had to stand on the roof of my rental car... thanks Hertz!

George DeCamp
01-23-2008, 08:23 PM
Good old Hertz makes a great support for the photographer don't they! :)

Good job getting both looking, looks like a nice day you had and productive! I agree with Rosl above and would add that it would be good to clone out that stick to the left side of the image sticking straight up....and also the ones to the side of it.