PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Calibration

Heidi Moore
02-06-2009, 05:08 PM
Hi

My name is Heidi Moore I am new to BPN and I need some help with monitor calibration. I want to calibrate my laptop monitor so I can post images for your review. I am not happy with Adobe gamma. Can someone please tell me if there is a calibration product they prefer? Where can I order these products and cost? I am new to editing for the web. I just purchased CS4 and am getting to know it. I want to be able to upload images to a printing service also so I can order prints in the future and have some type of color control. Any help would be appreciated. I hope to upload an image in the future. I have seen some amazing images on this site and need to learn how to edit/color correct etc. first. I have Mr. Morris's book and will start the learning process with it. I am a novice at post processing. Love taking nature pictures, trying to correct in the computer another story.

Thanks
Heidi

Alfred Forns
02-06-2009, 09:25 PM
Big Warm Welcome Heidi

Calibrating the monitor is very easy. I use the DataColor Spyder3Pro It comes with a sensor that you hang over the screen and just follow the prompts. Price is just over 150 btw there are many others and I'm sure you will get more info in this thread.

Should look in our Educational resources for tips on saving and posting images. Processing wise just come over to ETL and will help you out !!! Looking forward to seeing some images and don't be shy !!!!

Axel Hildebrandt
02-06-2009, 09:34 PM
Welcome to BPN, Heidi! I use XRite Eye One Match 3 to calibrate my desktop and laptop. If I am not happy with the result, I just let it run again. Having a calibrated monitor makes a big difference.

David Smith
02-07-2009, 07:51 AM