PDA

View Full Version : Peddling Petals

Ed Vatza
01-28-2009, 07:47 PM
That's what I feel like I am doing here.

From last Sunday's visit to the orchid exhibit at Longwood Gardens (Kennett Square, PA) and I must admit to having mixed feelings about this one. There are some aspects of it that I really like and some I'm not real keen on. But first, your thoughts?

Canon 50D; Sigma 150mm f/2.8 Macro lens; tripod-mounted.

1/3 sec @ f/22; ISO 200; 0 EV; AWB

Joseph Martines
01-28-2009, 08:48 PM
Seems like I got the same shot at the Botanical Gardens in Atlanta a week ago Sunday!!

I'm not good at PS but, I would try to take down the white in the center.

If you want to see how close to yours that I got try this:

http://picasaweb.google.com/martines34/AtlantaBotanicalGardensOrchids12709623PM#

I still like it!

denise ippolito
01-29-2009, 07:42 AM
Hi Ed, I like the colors ,I think if the center of the main orchid was over to the left a bit it would look better. I agree w/ Joseph about toning down that little bit of white. I do like the close up look.

Gus Cobos
01-29-2009, 10:58 AM
Hi Ed,
I'm afraid that this one does not do it for me...you have too many elements and not one strong focus point to lock in...as presented, I would have isolated the main flower and composed closer. the center should be to the upper right side of the frame...agree that the white portion should be toned down a bit...looking forward to your next one...:cool:

Mike Moats
01-30-2009, 05:43 AM
Hey Ed, I agree with Gus about to much going on. the focus seems soft around the edges which is strange as you list the f/stop at f/22.

Julie Kenward
01-30-2009, 07:44 PM
I liked the thumbnail so maybe this is more of a small print? I do think it lacks the DOF you normally achieve so it's not one of my favorites of yours but I do think it has possibilities in the comp.

Ed Vatza
01-30-2009, 08:42 PM
Thanks all. Can't say that I disagree with anything you all have said.