PDA

View Full Version : Orchid - Doritaenopsis genus - Unnamed Hybrid

Ed Vatza
01-25-2009, 06:51 PM
We went to Longwood Gardens (PA) this morning for the orchid exhibit. There were many, many beautiful orchids there but conditions were far from ideal for photography. It was payback for those comments I made regarding Anita's and Julie's photos from inside flower shows and conservatories. Backgrounds were deadly - bare walls, windows, flower pots, you name it. The light was ricocheting off of glass everywhere. I and others there to photograph were often found just shaking our heads.

Is there a secret to this, Anita? You know Longwood.

Anyway this image was made with my Canon 50D and Sigma 150mm f/2.8 macro lens, tripod-mounted. As if to add insult to injury, my flash was acting up so I just shut of off and went with the natural light as best I could.

And as a final finale, this is my first attempt on the iMac with new Lightroom 2 and Photoshop CS4 software. I feel like I am all thumbs.

1/13 sec @ f/8; ISO 200

Aristotle Georgiou
01-25-2009, 07:16 PM
You sure handled this shot real well Ed!

Nice comp, excellent exposure control and great DOF.

Well done.

Mike Moats
01-26-2009, 10:31 AM
Hey Ed, looks like you succeeded in conquering the elements. Like the nice sharp details and light looks good.

Dave Mills
01-26-2009, 10:43 AM
Hi Ed...I tend to do alot of closeups when I'm shooting orchids there to make the backround a non issue....

denise ippolito
01-26-2009, 12:23 PM
Ed, I like the cascading look to the orhids-Sounds like you had your hands full in capture and PP! I think you did well!!

Julie Kenward
01-26-2009, 08:15 PM
Ha! You mocked me and now you must pay! :eek::cool::D