PDA

View Full Version : First Orton Attempt

Dave Woeller
01-17-2009, 07:59 PM
This is my first attempt at the Orton Affect, and now I know why they say file selection is important. I'm posting it to get more direction and knowledge on this process. I did vary from normal technique in the final step after the copy and paste. Instead of adding the multipy blending (It made the pads way dark and I had much trouble trying to retrieve them) I used the darken blending, which gave me a better result. Once again I know this is flawed but I appreciate the constructive help here.

Julie Kenward
01-18-2009, 03:46 PM
I can't quite put my finger on it, Dave, but the whole image feels too blurry to me...even for an Orton effect. All the detail feels really washed out to me and I don't usually feel this way when looking at an image with an Orton twist.

I'd go back and try brightening the entire image before running through the process - I do this quite a bit. It's going to get darker and more dramatic so I tend to make the dark areas lighter to counteract it. Then, when you do the gaussian blur, don't take it quite as far. I usually go with the blur around 17-20 pixels at most and adjust more or less from there. See if those two suggestions help you out any.

And, yes, it is important to pick a good image for this process and you'll start to "see" which ones work and which ones don't as you go along. I find that anything with bright whites and deep tones in the same image can be problematic unless you lighten/brighten the lower tones separately from the whites before beginning the process.

Dave Woeller
01-18-2009, 04:48 PM
Julie, Thanks for the guidance, and I see your points. I would have to agree that I had gone over the top with the gausian blur. I'll keep working at it and heed the advice.

denise ippolito
01-18-2009, 05:38 PM