PDA

View Full Version : La Jolla Pelican

Maruthy Vedam
01-10-2009, 02:20 AM
Hello everyone,

I am an amateur photographer and have been getting serious about photography since I bought my first DSLR about 2 years ago.

This is my first post and would like to share this photo which is probably one of my better ones. I am always looking to improve, so any and all critique about technique or post processing is appreciated.

Thanks,
mvphoto

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3281/2894199354_7354fe6909_o.jpg

Juan Aragonés
01-10-2009, 02:29 AM
Hi and wellcome on board. i am sure that you will enjoy your time in BPN, this is a great place to share learning and information Your image is very sharp and I like the soft light and pose of the subject with a neat eye contact. Nice BG and well processed. I think that the composition could be better if the main point of interest (the eye of the pelican) were placed in a less centered position. I also think that it could work as a vertical crop.
Do not forget to post the basic technical details of the image (ISO, shutter speed, f-stop, etc)
Keep them coming:)

By the way, it would be much better if you, like other memebers of BPN; use a real name;)

Tony Whitehead
01-10-2009, 02:30 AM
Big welcome to BPN. I like the diagonal comp and feather details but would crop a little looser to avoid the feathers touching the edge on the right- nice eye contact and feather detail. Nice sharp eye with good DOF to cover the bird while rendering the BG nice and OOF. A little fill flash may have been an option to add a catchlight to the eye and bring some more detail into the dark area surrounding the eye. Posting technical details re camera, lens, aperture, shutter speed, ISO , metering etc are helpful in maximising feedback and suggestions. Great first post - looking forward to more.

Daniel Cadieux
01-10-2009, 06:16 AM