PDA

View Full Version : Cypress Trees in Fog

Phil Ertel
01-04-2009, 04:51 PM
Cypress Trees in Fog

This image of Cypress trees with a Great Blue Heron was made at Greenfield Lake in Wilmington North Carolina on 01-Jan-2009. It was 9:44AM on an obviously fogging morning. This was the first time I had been to this location. It had been recommended for birds. The fog was very thick when I first arrived (6:30AM). I could hear birds and see ghost like images of birds but there were no legitimate bird picture opportunities. However, I did come with this picture.

I hadn’t planned on a stitched composition but after I captured the Heron and reviewed the image on the LCD I knew as a bird picture it was lacking. So I thought I would try and create a panoramic like picture using Photomerge in CS3 (this is my first try at this). This image is composed of five frames.

The pictures are pretty much full frame with a little cropped off each side. Images were converted in ACR and merged in Photoshop. The only adjustment was a minor curves adjustment to increase the contrast a little.

Thanks for looking and of course any critiques.

Regards,

Phil

Camera: 40D
Lens: Canon EF70-200mm
Focal Length: 105.0mm
Exposure: 1/160s at f/10.0
Exposure Compensation: +1
Exposure Program: Manual
Metering Mode: evaluative
ISO: 400
Flash: Did not fire
Tripod
Level bubble on camera

Fabs Forns
01-04-2009, 07:11 PM
What a mood, and to get the GBH in the right spot!
The only thing that would have improved this on, to my taste, would be a different wing position,
Placement of the bird and the rest is picture perfect.

Chris Ober
01-04-2009, 08:30 PM
Cool! Clone out the heron and I like it even more!

denise ippolito
01-04-2009, 08:37 PM
Phil, This is lovely, There is a tranquil feel to it and I love the reflection-The muted color tones are superb!!

Phil Ertel
01-04-2009, 09:44 PM