PDA

View Full Version : Backyard Bird Photography DESIGN

Chad Griggs
01-03-2009, 03:04 PM
Hello everyone! This is my first post on the website and I hope to be an active member on here. I'm fairly new to bird photography. I just got my first 500mm (Sigma 150-500) lens this fall so its the first time I've been able to get the distance needed.

Anyway, I'm building a house and want to set up my yard for backyard bird photography. I was wondering if I could get some tips as to how to get started.

Also, there is a possibility that the only lot available in our pricerange will be facing north. I live in Minnesota so in the winter the sun is basically out of the south all day. That feel like its going to be a problem, although I guess I can plan to set up flash units (which I don't know much about)

I looks like the backyard doesn't come with any trees so its a blank canvas.

Thanks!

James Prudente
01-03-2009, 03:15 PM
Having a blank slate is probably a good thing. Contact your state wildlife agency and see if they have a backyard habitat program. Most wildlife agencies have a great deal of information on plantings for food, cover, nesting, etc. Native plant materials are the best bet to attract and hold species that live in or migrate through your area. Plan your plantings to afford you locations to set up your camera gear and perches for the lighting that will be present throughout the day. Locate perches near feeder stations and water features to get the most opportunities for your images. A bird list for your area will help you decide on the types of habitat to establish in your yard.

Have fun,

Jim

Chad Griggs
01-03-2009, 03:46 PM
Thanks for the info. I'll look into our DNR and see what they have.

*edit, the house we are looking at is facing *south. So it's like the backyard will be shadowed most of the day in the winter for sure.

Beth Goffe
01-03-2009, 04:17 PM