PDA

View Full Version : Basic Birding Help.

DennyKyser
11-22-2008, 04:15 PM
Ok, I did not realize there would be so much to this but wow, what a challenge.
First let me state this is a new found hobby and very addicting, but I spend most of the year shooting portraits and thats how I make my living so can't go nuts with long lenses.

I live in North Western Pennsylvania so the birds are not large and winter is tough When feeding how close can I get to them with out cutting down on their activity.

What kind of feeders do you use to keep them coming but make for decent pictures.

My lens is the 300 2.8 and camera the 1D Mk III and 5D.

I have ordered a user guide for the 1D Mk III to set it up better for birds, but any other advice or tips you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Axel Hildebrandt
11-22-2008, 05:42 PM
With the 300 you could add a 2x TC which makes it very usable for bird photography and AF and image quality is still pretty good with this combination.

Chris Hansen
11-22-2008, 08:04 PM
Denny,
Since you are doing feeder photography a 300 might be just the ticket if you place your feeder close enough to get good images. How close you can get is dependent upon a lot of variables. How well are you hidden. how close is the feeder to cover. How nervous are the birds. how hungry are they etc.