PDA

View Full Version : Photographing in a Gym

Lance Warley
11-03-2008, 01:08 PM
A friend just asked me about setting for photographing his son's basketball games in gyms.

I have no experience with this at all.

Can anyone provide suggestions for white balance, iso, aperture, exposure compensation? Please assume the hw is a zoom lens (something like a 100-400) and a dSLR (something like a 40D/50D).

Thanks.

Doug Brown
11-04-2008, 08:12 AM
Unless you have fast glass (f/2.8 or faster), it's going to be a struggle. Then use whatever settings it takes to get 1/500 or faster.

Mike Tracy
11-04-2008, 10:00 AM
I concur with what Doug says about using fast glass. I shoot a adult league hockey in a rink that is dingy lit but still better then most high school gyms I have photographed in. I have to shoot at either f/2.8 or f/3.5 with the ISO 2000 or above to keep my shutter at 1/500 using the 70-200. I have tried a custom white balance numerous times only to end up adjusting it during my conversion process. I think the lights flickering which you can't see with your eyes constantly changes the temp. Just shoot raw and don't worry about a custom AWB setting.

Edit : One from last week. MKIII, 70mm, 1/500, f/3.2, ISO 2000, EC +.3, noise reduction applied in Neat Image

Jim Poor
11-04-2008, 10:13 AM
I've got a similar shoot coming up. Canine Freestyle in a warehouse that has been converted to a doggy gym.

I went and did some practice shots there (no flash allowed for the event) and found I was up around ISO 2200 with my 70-200 @ f2.8.

I've since added an 85 f1.4 to the bag. I'll shoot two bodies one with each lens I mentioned.

The recommendation to shoot raw is really spot on as you'll never get the WB correct with the type of lighting used in most of those type places.