PDA

View Full Version : Wary Turtle

Hazel Grant
10-06-2008, 11:33 AM
I put it at higher resolution as you requested.

Jackie Schuknecht
10-06-2008, 06:37 PM
Hi Hazel, I like the focus you have on the eye, I might be tempted to lighten up the dark shadow a bit over top of his face:)

Phil Ertel
10-06-2008, 06:47 PM
I also like the focus on the eye. It is very sharp and draws my attention. I also like how the out of focus shell in the fore-front of the picture adds depth to the turtle's shell-cavity. You might try going a little lighter as it seems a bit dark. I would like to see this posted at the largest permitted size. I would also be interested in camera setting this image.

Thanks for sharing.

Phil

Hazel Grant
10-06-2008, 08:39 PM
I'm still learning the DSL, so this was just on auto when I took it. The download program didn't keep the F stop infor. etc. Taken with Nikon D40x in late afternoon light.

Hazel Grant
10-06-2008, 08:40 PM
Thanks. good point re the dark shadow.

Oscar Zangroniz
10-06-2008, 08:52 PM
I like the close up and the focus on the eye is excellent.
Congrats

Gus Cobos
10-06-2008, 09:38 PM
Hi Hazel,
I like your composition, the eye is very sharp. I tried to open up the blacks; but they are gone, no details. I recovered just a little more on the right hand side. I did a few modifications to your image to illustrate my point. I gave you a black background to make the subject stand out more, and selective sharpened around the outer portions of the shell and face, also boosted contrast and saturation. I would like to see the techs on your image to better help you; you can also post at a higher resolution...:cool:

Alfred Forns
10-07-2008, 08:20 AM
I like it a lot Hazel Basic image is strong and just needed the couple of tweaks Really like the re post by Gus !! You got a keeper !!!! Big Congrats !!!

Nicki Gwynn Jones
10-07-2008, 12:18 PM
Hi Hazel,
Lovely strong image and Gus's repost takes it over the top.
Regards,
Nicki

Hazel Grant