View Full Version : Tri-Colored Heron

Mohammed Ahmed
01-14-2008, 08:58 PM
Created this image in December 2007 @ Ding Darling NWR - Sanibel Florida
Technicals:
Canon EOS 40D; EF400mm f/2.8L IS USM +2.0x
ISO200; RAW; Flash Off; WB Auto; Manual Focus
1/250Sec.; F5.6; Evaluative metering; -1/3EC;

I have cropped about a fifth from top. Other than that a little bit of adjustment in sharpness, contrast & brightness. Please let me know if the mangroves are a distracting in this, the way it has been framed and what your likes and dislikes are. I am very new to Photoshop and have not determined or defined my workflow pattern. Are there any books/tutorials that any of you would recommend to help me do this? For example: Do you use USM prior to resizing or after? When do you do dodge/burn? Are there any fractal routines or plug-ins that can be used when upsizing the image let's say to 16"x24" size etc. Thanks in advance.

Paul Davey
01-15-2008, 03:28 AM
Hi Mohammed. I don't think the mangroves are distracting. It shows the bird in its habitat, which is a plus. I am very new to PhotoShop as well and am only just starting up in the more advanced digital workflow processes. I don't have any recommendations for a book. For your photograph, I don't like the position of the birds head. Would be much better if tilted on an angle towards the photographer/viewer. Remember, it makes all the difference getting the highlight in the eyes.

Paul

Tony Whitehead
01-15-2008, 04:10 AM
Hi Mohammed, Arthur Morris' Digital Basics File is an excellent primer for digital workflow - great value for money. Latest update has just been released. Sharpening generally should be your last step in image preparation and depends on final output.

Peter Hawrylyshyn
01-15-2008, 12:45 PM
Mohammed -